The Internets are Different Here

First of all, since I’m 7 hours ahead of the U.S., I’m basically a time-traveler. (Don’t worry, you’ll bounce back from those 3 o’clock sleepies around 5 and have a great evening…I recommend a snack. Trust me.). In half an hour I’m going to start in on Monday while you guys are still sifting through the dregs of Sunday, but don’t worry, I’ll give you the skinny if anything interesting happens.

This ability to see into the future on your behalf, however, comes at a price:

img_1508

What do you mean not available where I am YET? You old AS FUCK, Pandora–get your shit together. If you were a 30 year old Millennial, you’d be working at Pizza hut, living in your brother’s basement, unknowingly dating your third cousin.

I know what you’re thinking: I should have known that the internets would be different here. Yes, I should have known that. But I haven’t been abroad since 2007. Do you remember what the internets were like in 2007? Still pretty sparse. Mostly special-interest pages made on Dreamweaver by nerds in their basement. Okay, maybe not that sparse. But there was no such thing is internet radio back then, and I’ve had a lot of time to get spoiled.

ON THE BRIGHT SIDE. The boyf and I were co-browsing Netflix trying to find a movie we could watch together (I know, gross right?), and evidently our movie lists are very different. While it was no small devastation to lose Scrubs, I now have a far better collection of movies including: Ant Man, Avengers: Age of Ultron, Point Break, Ghost, The Terminator, Karate Kid, Wayne’s World, AND Confessions of a Shopaholic.

We both have Beverly Hills Cop (Thank God), but we just watched it before I left. We have one more Black Mirror episode left, but GAWD if that show isn’t so depressing. (But so good!)  We don’t have a lot of options for co-watching, but personally I’m stoked to dive back into Dexter…AFTER I savor Point Break for the millionth time. I guess instead of Netflix and cyber-chill, we’ll have to be huge nerds and play boardgames over Skype. (Dominion worked pretty well! I’ll let you know how Runebound goes).

Another benefit of foreign internets is that my Google homepage is in Norwegian. I mean, Google is always Google, but the rest is pretty cool: Screen Shot 2017-01-08 at 10.21.02 PM.png

That’s all I’ve discovered so far. I look forward to sending you further reports (from the future) about Norwegian internets and things.

2 Comments

  1. Wow! The article was pretty interesting. Thank you for sharing! It is the fact that the internet has been changed time-to-time! From Orkut to SnapChat the journey has been mind-blowing so far. From street shops to live chat in ecommerce, even business has been evolved so much with the help of internet!

    Like

Leave a Reply

