Let’s talk about Candy, baby

At home–walk into any grocery store, convenient store, or big box store and you’re immediately inundated with seasonal goods, the likes of which depend on the most imminent holiday. Most abundant, of course, is the candy. One holiday barely passes before the next is angling for shelf space. Get your sugar fix in orange and green wrapping from September – October, green and red from November – December, red and pink from January – February, and pink and purple from February – March (or April depending on where Easter falls).

The candy situation here has been slightly different. Most stores have a candy bin section (some bigger than others) where you can fill a bag with whatever mix of candy you want for a set price/kg. At home, these kinds of candy arsenals are usually found only at speciality stores. (Let the record reflect that I LOVE THIS because mix-and-match candy makes my heart glow.) The trade-off, it seems, is Norway’s more mellow approach to holiday/seasonal candy.

Shortly after my arrival, I noticed a few lingering Christmas goods. Lots of gingerbread (pepperkake) in particular. In fact, there are STILL boxes of pepperkake on sale at the store. Valentine’s day, however, didn’t bring in much for specialty candy. Almost nothing, really. (This may be because, as Krista told me, Valentine’s day is still a relatively new holiday in Norway). But now that Valentine’s day has passed, stores have yet to erect any major Easter candy displays.

I, fortunately, have a keen eye. Yesterday, I stumbled across a delightful candy that I’m pretty sure is an Easter treat. It was in the candy section of the grocery, but it was all by itself and just kind of set on top of some other stuff. I didn’t see any other Easter-y stuff around. Just this little carton of…eggs. I said to myself–SELF, you need to buy these.

img_2064

First of all, they’re made by Freia–a chocolatier who has forever earned my trust and adoration. Second, I had a suspicion that they’d be akin to Cadbury eggs and I love the shit out of those. Third, IT’S CANDY EGGS IN AN ACTUAL EGG CARTON. How can you pass that up?

So I get this treasure home, and I tear in. There are four wrapped eggs (a fun surprise that they were wrapped!) and two spoons. Curiosity piqued.

I bit into the egg to find a kind of sweet, light filling. Kind of whipped, but heavier than whipped cream; not gooey like a Cadbury egg. And the tiny spoon! Fit right in there. It wasn’t flavored like anything in particular–I’d expect vanilla–just sweet and perfectly textured.

In all the ROWS AND ROWS AND ROWS of candy that we shelve at home, never have I seen anything this carefully crafted, fun, or delicious. We’re all about the quantity but really, it’s all the same. Even holiday to holiday–it’s mostly the same treats put through a wardrobe change for the next event. (DON’T EVEN GET ME STARTED ON CADBURY “SCREAM” EGGS).

Easter is in April this year, so maybe Norway is just taking its time ramping up for the holiday. Or maybe they’re nothing like us in terms of their ridiculous holiday gluttony. In any case, I’ll be keeping my eye out for other holiday delights. And if I find nothing else besides these adorable Easter eggs–so be it!

img_2071

Leave a Reply

