Feels like Spring

Today is the official first day of spring, but it felt like she sprung a little early this weekend. We had perfect weather on Saturday. PERFECT. I’ve been such an old biddy with nothing better to talk about but the weather. Every interaction I had today started with, “Wasn’t the weather just perfect on Saturday? Did you go out? Wasn’t it wonderful?” I’m annoyed with myself, but I just love those perfect spring days, and Saturday was it.

I wasn’t the only one who thought so. When I  ventured out for a stroll, I quickly realized that all of Moss did too. Norwegians love being outside on the weekends, even if its kind of crummy. If it’s a nice day, you’ll see every neighbor, every dog, every child, every bird  living in the area. I felt a little overwhelmed by all the people.

So I found a nice spot by the beach to do some some writing. I watched kids chase birds and touch gross sea things. It was lovely. Evidently I was so engrossed in watching and writing that I failed to notice Caleb sit down a few feet away from me–ha! I wrote three poems about sunshine.

On my way back, I stopped at the Asian market to get a few necessities and to visit my future mother-in-law. (I’m sorry, Will, we both have to accept that when she asks me to marry her son and uses those pork buns as leverage, it’s all over.) The store was bustling, and the pork buns were all gone. I was too slow to claim my lunch. I was also, apparently, too engrossed by the day to take any pictures. You’ll just have to take my word for it.

Sunday wasn’t quite as perfect, but I took a nice long walk in the woods. The snow has melted and left big sections of the trail muddy and wet, but everything is sprouting and growing, and the moss is bright green. The trails are begging for visitors.

I went a different way than I’ve gone before, and I found a tiny house! I’m fairly certain that it’s a troll house–a small troll. Big ones live in caves.

Walking in the woods filled my cup. I felt like I had the whole world to myself, excepting the guy on the mountain bike and two ladies with dogs. But I didn’t mind sharing the whole world with them.

When spring comes I remember how much I missed the warmth and the green and the freedom of leaving the house without a million layers all tangled up with one another. Longer days mean more sunlight, and my brain just feels more awake. It’s like I’m waking up from my winter hibernation. But, oh! That might change on Sunday. Norway does observe daylight savings time–but not until the 26th. There’s so much light out though–I’m not sure I’ll even miss that hour. 🙂

Today, on the OFFICIAL first day of spring, it precipitated a bit. Snow-like, but non-committal. I didn’t mind. I already had my perfect first day of spring, twice over.

Leave a Reply

